Class Summaries

January 12, 2017

John Thompson- I-COMM intro

Today representatives from the Scroll and Soapbox informed us about their practicums. I was really intrigued in Soapbox and would like to look more into being a part of it once I get more experience. They have several different departments, but I am most interested in their design department. Something they kept repeating is “we like to create an experience.” This could give me a great experience in the future.

January 19, 2017

Lane Williams- News and Journalism

Lane Williams talked to us about how we can use our portfolios to our advantage. He gave us five suggestions that will help us in our communication career: subscribe to newspapers, read the Wall Street Journal, consider blogging, consider the news journalism emphasis, and attend writing seminars. Comm majors will all need to know how to write, so his suggestions can be very helpful.

January 26, 2017

Christian Mawlam- video production

Brother Mawlam showed us all about the video production world. He told us about the different courses we can take if we are pursuing this emphasis, and also about internship opportunities. Though I’m a visual emphasis, video production teams need designers to help in the editing process. This is something that I would be able to do with the skills I’m learning, and sounds really intriguing.

February 2, 2017

Eric Lybbert- Visual Communication Emphasis

This week was awesome since it was directed to my major! There were multiple speakers that each presented about the different courses I can take. I was the most excited about COMM 130, which is visual media. This covers design, color, and typography. Great preview of what I’m getting myself into and what to look forward to.

February 9, 2017

Andra Hansen- Organizational Comm and Advocacy

I didn’t know advocacy was something comm majors could do, so this was interesting to learn about! This isn’t something I’m particularly interested in, but she did give some good tips for what employers are looking for, which can be helpful to anyone and everyone. A few skills she listed included: ability to work in a team, make decisions, and communicate verbally inside and outside of the organization.

February 16, 2017

Michael Cannon- Public Relations

Brother Cannon explained what public relations is and what it involves. Essentially, it is the image of the business, or what someone else says about you that influences public opinion. My dad does public relations on campus, but it was interesting hearing about it from someone else’s perspective. This is something that I’ve considered doing for my module, so it was good to learn a little bit more about it .

February 23, 2017

Beth Hendricks- Advertising

This is the second area that I’ve considered doing for my module, so I enjoyed learning about what advertising involves. She gave us the 5 P’s of marketing: Product, Price, Place, Promotion, and People. She also talked about the types of positions available in this field, the different agencies you can be involved in, and AAF (American Advertising Federation). She definitely had my attention, and I feel like this information is all really useful should I decided to make advertising my module.

Leave a Reply

